When does it get creepy?

The words to the theme song for the TV show “Cheers” include “where everyone knows my name”. For myself, I like it when I am recognized and smile when my local restaurant asks if I want to order “my usual”. We call that CRM.

All the talk now is the use of my information to predict what I am going to do in the future. Again this good competitive business practice that is no different than Og Mandino, the great salesman, putting a bring-forward note predicting when a customer might be ready to buy another car. My ease with databases predicting my behaviour depends on the situation. I’m all for dentists reminding me that it is time for a checkup or medical analysis of my DNA to alert me of possible problems ahead. I’m less impressed when I’m advised what book to read or movie to see based on previous purchases. Am I that predictable? Am I not allowed to change?

Now it gets a bit creepy when drug-stores take the cue of certain vitamin purchases to send women coupons for baby products. Will my regular visits to the wine store trigger predictions of health problems or coupons for taxis? Will my purchase of certain video games for my kids put me into someone’s psycho-violent box?

Some have criticized the police for not anticipating abuse situations or murderers. That’s where profiling becomes dangerous. If police used the data the same way as marketers would they able to take people into custody based on their consumption history to prevent a future crime (a la Minority Report)? That’s where it gets creepy.

One thought on “When does it get creepy?

  1. Bob,

    Several years ago I worked for an IT Consulting firm who designed and installed two software programs for the LAPD to address their risk management issues. Unlike what you are inquiring about in your last paragraph (i.e. “minority report” style profiling), these programs were used to address the potential and possibility of officers who might use excessive force towards civilians (eg. in an arrest, an interrogation, etc.). These programs were mandated by the state of California in order to:

    “…reduce the Department’s risk and liability in dealing with public interactions. The two key systems will enable authorized police managers to identify and track cases involving internal investigations.”

    Creepy yet so cool. Technology is a truly wonderful thing.

Leave a comment